Climate Issues

Eric Astle

Reaction score
I am new to Audi ownership and have a fault with the air conditioning on my 2002 S3 which I hope somebody may be able to assist me with? Essentially it is not blowing cold and I have done the following so far:
  • Checked pressure at air con filling point = reading zero psi
  • Re-gassed system correctly = now reading a stable 40psi (no drop in pressure to indicate a leak)
  • Noticed that neither fan kicks in when a/c set to auto (econ off)
  • Checked green fuses and carriers on top of battery = all ok
I then proceeded to remove fuse 16 (10A) from the circuit board located at the end of the dashboard on the drivers side. I wanted to see whether this fuse was intact as it is listed as being for the water pump and magnetic clutch. Upon removing this fuse (it is intact) both fans immediately kicked in. I checked the temperature of the air which was still blowing through the vents in the vehicle and it still isn't blowing cold. The fans run constantly until the fuse is re-inserted and at which point they immediately stop.

I am a bit puzzled as to how the fans will not operate with the fuse in situ but will operate with the fuse removed! I have searched the forum and tried to glean information from other online resources though have drawn a blank. Before I take the car off to be diagnosed properly by a technician I thought it was worth raising it as an issue here to see if anyone can offer any further information or advise on what I may check next.

Eric

I am new to Audi ownership and have a fault with the air conditioning on my 2002 S3 which I hope somebody may be able to assist me with? Essentially it is not blowing cold and I have done the following so far:
  • Checked pressure at air con filling point = reading zero psi
  • Re-gassed system correctly = now reading a stable 40psi (no drop in pressure to indicate a leak)
  • Noticed that neither fan kicks in when a/c set to auto (econ off)