Running in new bottom end?

slowcoach3

Reaction score
My bottom end is being rebuilt next week with forged rods, new pistons, rings and all the bits and bobs. I have done a fair bit of reading up on the topic of running it in and there seems to be two totally opposite opinions: take it slowly and gentley or rag the **** off it! Anybody thats done it themselves I'd love to know what you did as I'd like it to be a reliable, strong engine and don't want to follow a guide written by some keyboard warrior who's only done it on forza...
Cheers

Thanks Karl, I'll sit down with a cuppa and give that a proper read. Going softly softly doesn't make much sense to me but this is my first time so want it done right!

this break in procedure is a bit hard to do when you build a new BT engine as you need to have the fueling right before you can abuse the motor.

Cheers Bill, I'll be following that to a T then :) Scullies, I have just read Bills post on remaps and paid particular attention to the bit about uprated actuators on generic maps, my turbo is up with Dan getting refurbed and whilst its not a hybrid it will be ever so slightly ported and will have an uprated actuator, I'm on a Revo map at the minute and I'm now worried about overboost and not having everything set up correctly! Might have to see if I can leave it on standard actuator to run it in then switch them over and run N75 unplugged on the way up to Bills.
Clearly hadn't thought this through very well :(