Volks AutosAH Fabrications
    Reverse Gear

Status

s3 with decat but lamba wires are cut?

hi folks, newbie here with a problem.
    just got myself a 2001 s3 and while looking to see if it had a decat ive noticed the wires to the lamba sensor are all cut but no em light on the dash.
    question is, what effect will this have on the car and why would this be done.

2. # ADS
    ADS

4th Gear

Status
    Is the lamba sensor after the cat/decat as the facelift has 2 one before the cat and one after, the one after can be mapped out has the car been mapped

Reverse Gear

Status
    supposedly its 262bhp but its very laggy which makes me think its either something wrong or im expecting too much as i had an evo before.

4th Gear

Status
    If its 262 it has been mapped mate and that lamba has been deleted because with a decat you would get a light up I think but not 100% the second lamba is only there to tell you the cat is Working so nothing to worry about

Badger 5 Edition

Status
    If the wires on the top lambda are cut then it will be a major issue as the ECU needs this (wideband) lambda to run the engine effectively... if its the post cat lambda (as you have a decat) then no eml would suggest it either been coded out or had a bit of sticky tape stuck behind the dash (happens more often than you think)

First thing to do is to get a copy of VCDS (there is a link in my sig to a thread that will help you sort this cheaply) and scan for fault codes..

Not having the post cat lambda connected will typically mean that the ECU will switch off adaptions including potentially live lambda adjustment... the post cat lambda is used for monitoring cat efficiency... its coded out on most stage 2 tuned cars to allow for the fitting of 3" DP's and decats or 200cell sports cats which sometimes throw a fault (and a CEL)...they 'can' be coded out completely but most tuners don't

<tuffty/>