AWD doesn't work. Probably NOT haldex

Rokas

Reaction score
Hi,

I've read (don't remember where) that if you have a problem with awd, you can lift your car, put it in 1st and see if the rear wheels are turning, and if they are, you should know whether it's the wiring, haldex or a pre-charge pump. So today I took my '01 154kW S3 to local garage. And while the car was lifted, wheels were turning, but I don't have any power delivered to rear while on snow. We checked the wiring and it seemed to be good. We didn't have any time to check haldex or pump.

so is it possible to know if it's the pump or haldex that doesn't work?

Sorry if some terms are incorrect, I'm new in all this :)

If you turn tightly (full lock) does the car skip? The inside wheel locks momentarily?

There are service records when this car was still in France. It has done around 15k since last service record.

Tomorrow I'll try if the car skips while turning

was the handbrake off??? think it needs to be to activate the haldex

maek

was the handbrake off??? think it needs to be to activate the haldex

maek

I've looked into this with the snow, mine still sends power to the rear if the handbrake is on or not. I heard before it disconnects but does not seem to be true.

I've looked into this with the snow, mine still sends power to the rear if the handbrake is on or not. I heard before it disconnects but does not seem to be true.

Did you pull the hand brake up more then one click?

When i click mine up once its doesn't do anything although the light indicates on the dash its on, although AWD is still there. I have to click it up again for the haldex to disengage..

If you turn tightly (full lock) does the car skip? The inside wheel locks momentarily?

So I've tried that today and nothing happened. The wheel wasn't locking... (tried with ESP on and off)

edit: and the hand brake of course was off