My Sump Smashing Saga

A3-Lee

VCDS Map User
Reaction score
Right after a bit of advice really before i smash sump number 5! :sob: I have a 1999 A3 1.8t AGU the car is rather low and the roads around the UK are poor to say the least rather than higher the car up (bit difficult as adjuster ring is seized) what do people think to the idea of having a 3 mm or 4 mm plate welded to the sump to strengthen it as i know somebody who can do this for a good price he's a welder by trade or has anybody had experience with shallow sumps? Although to be honest Im not overly keen on the idea of the car holding less oil just looking for some ideas really because its only a matter of time before i do it again also anyone with a reasonably priced sump for sale let me know cheers lee

I think bigger tyres would sort your problem Lee, but you would lose that 'slammed' look! Have you seen the slammed grey LCR driving around? That guy takes the long way home to avoid speedbumps! lol

I have a mate with a bora that keeps smashing sumps and has just ordered a shallower sump, by about 1/2 litre I think he said. This is why I like my standard hight, speed bumps at 25mph are problem! Lol.

I do that I avoid speed bumps as much as possible but it's potholes/dips in the road that give most problems tbh bigger tyres when I need tyres may well be a option

Here's the sump I modified when I had a TT that was very low. Survived 2 years worth of abuse!
B6E07269-5469-4123-83FD-57E897D44E9B-1038-000000609690E592.jpg

Reactions: Westy
Ive got a spare AGU (no sensor sump) if you wanna buy a spare one?