A3 1.8T Sport - Broken timing belt

TheAudiGuy

Reaction score
Hi all

My friend's A3 1.8t sport (02 plate) has just had the timing belt break on him, the garage he's taken it to have said there is no compression so it's likely the valves are bent - they want something like £400 to check what damage has been done so he's decided to get rid. I was thinking of buying the car to fix as a project (it would be a second car so there would be no rush to get it fixed or anything). I figure my options are as follows:

Option 1:
Check damage and replace valves, have head skimmed and valves lapped.

Option 2:
Buy replacement cylinder head and bolt that straight on

I wouldn't have thought any damage would have been done to the pistons or any other engine components so would replacing the cylinder head alone be enough? Are there also any guides on this? I'm not a mechanic but have a real interest in how cars work and would like to learn by taking on something like this! Any thoughts?

Cheers

good idea, cheap car, worth doing, if it was me id take the head off and check, look at the piston crown damage and go from there

you could just buy a second hand engine and replace it, that way you wont have to worry about piston damage

My only worry would be the condition of the pistons.

Depending on how badly they've made contact, it's possible that there's more damage underneath than visable on top, like an exit wound kind of situation, I've seen pistons with a small dent in the top that have been ruined below the crown.

Still, you can pick up a complete AGU engine for £250, sling it in and enjoy :)

Cheers for the reply guys - yeah true about the pistons, might look at full engines then! I was going to give £500 for the car, its 02 plate with around 120k on it, do you think that's ok?

if you had second thoughts you could break it and make your money back I guess.

Last edited:
Yeah true... anyone else have any thoughts? Need to decide by tomorrow really!