Is this right ?

BD's S3

Reaction score
Ive decided to take my ko4 off my s3 myself as the mechanics i no are to busy, its got to be sent back to cr turbo after last time having it changed to stage 4 hybrid and the EGT sensor does not fit back in the housing. I am a begginner mechanic and only no very basics from what i read on here, ive also bought a relentless V3 mani to put on at the same time and fmic. Ive just got the oem mani off and i found the gasket had an oil'ly residue on it and there was a more substantial build up of what i think is carbon on the end 'hole'. Is this right ? should there be this deposit amount there ? the car has been smoking alot recently and running pretty crap, didnt think the smoke was from turbo as it has only been on the car a month or so, any suggestions ? these pictures were taken a couple minutes after taking the manifold off. before i put the new one on just want to know if there is something else behind this that needs to be sorted

Attachments

• 026.jpg
    026.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 174
  • 027.jpg
    027.jpg
    102.4 KB · Views: 157
cant answer your question mate.
but well done with getting the mani off.
did you take off the manni with the head still on?
if so how long did it take?
only asking cause im fitting a xs manni and downpipe this weekend

well i had the turbo off last night and the started the mani this mornin at bout ten till bout half hour before my first post, not a pleasant job helped with turbo being off and heat sheilding behind it for extra space

Oil is most likely from a leaking cam cover gasket... common issue... replace the cam cover gasket and the half moon/cam chain tensioner gasket too

<tuffty/>