GT3582R info please

Scullies

Reaction score
Garrett 3582 - compressor is 56 trim .70 A/R, turbine is 84 trim .63 with an anti-surge housing.

I'm still learning about turbo things. I am aiming for 400hp for my S3, going to stroke it with FSI crank with rods and 83mm pistons.
Would the turbo mentioned above be overkill. Would it take a long time to spool? Would it fit in the S3, as there is limited space back there.
Should I be looking for a GT3071/GT3076
The car is going to be a daily drive with some track fun day racing in the colder months here.

stroker will help it spool obviously.
1900cc mine spools at 4700rpm - stroker might get this going 300-500rpm sooner

top mount.. it will be cosy
consider using tial vband hotside (more compact and will eliminate bolt/stud/gasket failures)

12psi on my hybrid gt3582/Precision62 is 360bhp, 25psi 545bhp on vpower pump fuel

you will want uprated valve train, largeport head, big injectors (depending on where you want your ultimate power goals)

If 400bhp is your goal, GT3582 is probably overkill, but will have PLENTY in hand :D

Just got a guy here who needs to sell his turbo, never used for about GBP 450. Is that a good deal?
The plan is to stroke the block, then use std head, valve train and K04 while I source/save for large port and valve train.

Are you running a top mount setup? Would that mean new downpipe for new big turbo setup?

Now who doesn't need more power :laugh:

Not only would you need a new downpipe you would need larger injectors, inline fuel pump, large FMIC, 100mm TIP, RS4 MAF etc... and to get the best out of the turbo a larger inlet manifold and throttle body...

And don't forget the thing most people seem to... lots of heat shielding...

<tuffty/>

:ohmy: and the shopping list grows. Good thing its my birthday next month, time to butter up the wife :laugh: