FMIC setup A3 8L correct or not?

Jay A3

#because Racecar
Reaction score
Looking for advice as per the title

I have looked through a fair few FMIC threads and most refer to those who buy FMIC kits like forge and ebay ones...
I wanted to buy the toyosport intercooler rather than the larger ones like AH fab (bit overkill as my power would not require large cores) which meant i needed to buy my own pipes. I didnt want to buy those intercooler pipe kits ebay sell as i wanted the silicone hoses to be 4 ply silicone hoses. Adapted from the list Prawn posted up a while ago in the FMIC thread.

Im a complete noob when it comes to fitting this in so I have drawn this up to try and show you how i plan to fit this in.

What i also noticed is the little mention of the pipework for the DV & N75; and how welding might be required in some instances.

Can anyone confirm i have everything covered, do i need more pipes or re-arrange any pipes?

Planned setup
FMIClayoutcopy-1.jpg

Hotside
Hotsidefmiclayout-1.jpg

Welding
weldinglayout-1.jpg

Advice appreciated!

Reactions: Markeyboy and deeman88
Looks correct apart from the top hose goes down instead of to the left. It needsgo down behind the engine onto the turbo. Haven't got a pic atm but ill get one for you tomorrow

Cheers Paradox

I have re-adjusted the pipe work. I still got the photo of your setup just never seen one mocked up before fitting

Like this?
hotsidev2.jpg

Bingo! Looks spot on Jay.

POn;y thing you might find is that you could need to trim the first pipe down off the turbo as it'll sit fairly high. apart from that it all looks good.

Also, you're best off welding the DV and N75 ports onto the first pipe rather than the 45. Keeps everything in a more stock location :)

DV is the 25mm one btw.

Should be good once on :) I knocked up my pipework like that in the house too!

You will probably struggle to find an 8mm alloy barbed bit for n75, all the ones I could find where steel or brass and ended up turning my own ;)