Lack of Boost.

Nick090884

Reaction score
Hi guys wondering if you could help ?

ive done a scan of my a3 1.8t aum and had a few faults.
mostly misfire , ive read a few post and found out my coil packs were under a recall. had them done the other day and it seems to be better.

the main problem is the malfunction of my N249 valve. when driving i get a fairly loud hissing nosie followed by a noise sounding like a dump valve, so i've checked to see if the donnut that last had the car had put one on and its the standard oem diverter valve top right corner under the engine cover (If im looking in the right place) im a complete newbie to a turbo and dont know where to even start.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Last edited:
Post up the fualt codes mate... codes will help work out whats going on..

This will also help...
Category:Fault Codes - Ross-Tech Wiki

By malfunction of the N249 I will assume you got a 'mechanical failure' code? has the N249 been bypassed?

Any other details such as if the engines remapped, other mods etc will help but get the codes up from the scan

<tuffty/>

Hi there tuffty, i will post the fault code asap. its a standard aum , and havent had a N249 bypass. yes the fault i get in vcds is 'mechanical failure' . i will scan with vcds later and post . ive only have the vdcs lite ATM.

Many thanks

Nick

If you haven't done the bypass and you are getting that fault with a std DV then I would imagine the DV is the problem... you should be getting a choo, choo, choo type noise letting off part throttle if the diaphragm has gone... OEM ones are cheap... or get a 007p/008 from Forge

<tuffty/>

That is excatly the noise id say im getting. as im climbing speed under full throttle its like its leaking air from the same part/ area before i get the choo choo choo noise.

cool thanks again <tuffty/> i'll repost after i get my new DV.