vibration from rear on full lock 2001 s3 help!

fezzers

Reaction score
hi ive recently purchased a y reg s3 209bhp, i am a mechanic by trade but i havent had alot to do with the 4 wheel drive system on these cars. now i may have brought this car without realising a few things.... the center display has 3 areas the top one isnt working an after buying it ive realised thats where the faults are indicated also the stereo is in safe mode would this affect it?. does anyone no if these can be turned off or maybe bulb removed? also im getting a vibration almost like the rear diff is locking up on full lock but only at low speeds (ie car parks or 3 point turns etc). since ive noticed these problems ive been looking on the net to see if theres any info on it cant find much, any help would be much appreciated. ive just got a heldex filter and oil planning to change it tomorrow. im starting to get a bit worried that it could be a complete rear diff etc. hopefully someone will have come across this before! thanks

Hi and welcome to ASN...

The symptoms you describe sound like sticking haldex clutch plates due to a lack of proper haldex oil changes... you maybe lucky and recover it by doing a haldex oil and filter change... I would be tempted to do it again after a few thousand miles too to clear it through... not a difficult task tbh... oil is cheap enough...

This is a seemingly common complaint on older S3's as they become cheaper and owners are not doing dealer services so haldex services get missed...

Worse case is a replacement haldex clutch sadly..

<tuffty/>