A3 Centre Control Console and Radio Help.

Stuart Dobson

Reaction score
Hey Everyone
Firstly I'm new here so go easy on me, I'm an Audi newbie :)
I brought my first Audi today!
An Audi A3 1.8T Sport 2003
And I LOVE it! But I need some advice with the radio and centre unit and was hoping someone could at least point me in the right direction...

This is the set up I have...

img0311fb.jpg

Firstly I noticed that for some reason the radio backlight dims when i turn the ignition on and i cant see what it says on the screen, is this normal? have I just got it on a wrong setting or is this a problem?

Secondly whilst looking into this I was wondering if it where possible to shift it around about so i could get a double din audio system in like this one...

unled2zdl.jpg

I know it wont simply "swap" over, it might be a completely stupid and impossible idea but I was wondering if someone could either point me in the right direction or snap me out of it.

Was thinking about improving the climate control too as there's a fair bit of use on some of the buttons, either just replacing it with a better one or upgrading it if that's possible too.

like I said I've NO idea if this is even possible, i might just be living in a dream world but was hoping that someone could shed some light.

yes it's possible.

as you want a new air con unit anyway, you need one from a double Din car so it can be moved down, you'll lose the little cubby hole, but I'm sure you're not too bothered.

I reckon the best thing to do would be find a double DIN car in a breakers and take everything from that.

Ok i will i just need the double din cage from another audi, the air con unit and the audio system?
Ive noticed that some configurations place the radio at the top, and some below the hazard warning (Etc.) bar. Will either configuration work or will i have to go with the one that places the hazard warning bar at the top?

Also What climate control unit can i use? Would one like this be possible?