The phantom clunk...

Welly

335D Driver :-)
Reaction score
That's it, I have decided this now MUST be found. (For those who don't know I have been chasing a clunk now for about 9 months - no idea what it is, it's baffling). Some thing is shifting about down there that shouldn't be.

It's driving me absolutely insane.

I am trying to decide what is the best course of action to take.

It could be the rack, but I don't think it is. It's more under weight shifting.

It could be the shocks, but again I don't think it is. I've checked them and they seem fine, and it seems deeper in the car.

So, what I propose to do is:

1) Drop the subframe.
2) Poly bush the ARB.
3) Poly bush the steering rack.
4) Replace rear subframe bushes.

Then drive and see if it's fixed it.

If not, I will cry....

since you are doing all that, would be worth doing the shocks or any thing else that you think it could may be possible not sure worth a go coule be?

strut tops?

since you are doing all that, would be worth doing the shocks or any thing else that you think it could may be possible not sure worth a go coule be?

strut tops?

Strut tops have been done, and I checked the shocks out whilst doing them.

It's such a hard thing to describe, something is physically moving about. All the time, even over undulations on the motorway for example, you can always feel something there moving about.

I have changed all the suspension components pretty much now.

Putting new subframe bolts in did change it's characteristics, which makes me suspicious of the frame.

I have changed:

Bottom ball joints, track rod ends, rear wishbone bushes, strut tops, ARB bushes, CV joints, driveshafts, rear engine mount, drop links, calipers, hangers, discs.

As you can imagine, I just want it to go away now...

Last edited:
Is it a heavy clonking sound or faint? and can it be felt at all when it happens

Is it a heavy clonking sound or faint? and can it be felt at all when it happens