New to the forum with few probs.

Rosso TT

Reaction score
Hi, my name's Ross, i live in aus and i'm a proud owner of a tt quattro.
You might wonder why i'm posting here instead of the tt section or the ttoc( i'm a member there too)
but i've been following this for quite a while and i found out there are some very knowledgeable members on here regarding 1.8T.
So, here's my dilemmas
How do i post screenshot of my logs? I have microsoft works spreadsheet.
I've been playing around with my fuel system for about 2 months, i fitted a pressure gauge near the injector rail and i can see about 3.5 bar at idle ( got 4 bar fpr) and goes up to 4.2 bat just before the turbo starts spooling up, after that the pressure drops to 3 bar at 6000 rpm.Is that normal?
I replaced the fuel filter couple months ago, today i replaced my fuel pump and neither of them had cured the problem if that's a problem at all.
I thought i should see no less that 5.4 bar of fuel pressure but the guy that sold me the pump told me that intank pump don't do over 4 bar.
I'm comfused.
Thanks.

For a start you don't need a 4Bar FPR... The standard 3 Bar one is more than sufficient...

Sounds like the pump is on its way out or the FPR is blocked... as stated there is no reason at all for a 4bar FPR... fuel pressure on boost should be FPR rating + actual boost so at 1.2bar boost you should see 5.2 bar fuel pressure...

First thing to do is stick a 3bar FPR back in then start logging using VCDS to see what the fuelling is doing... if the fuel pressure is dropping off that much at high RPM/boost I would expect to see big differences between fuel request and fuel actual on block 31 assuming yours is a wideband ECU else get it on a dyno and check with an AFR probe...

You would be advised to not rag your car until you have diagnosed this problem as going lean is a very bad thing...

<tuffty/>