Chris NottAH Fabrications

View Poll Results: What colour S3 Avus for the Track?

Voters
63. You may not vote on this poll
  • Porsche Guards Red

    34 53.97%
  • Kawasaki Green

    29 46.03%
Page 44 of 90 FirstFirst ... 3437383940414243444546474849505154 ... LastLast
Results 1,721 to 1,760 of 3584
Like Tree124Likes

Thread: W3STY's Progress Thread

  1. #1721
    <tuffty/>'s Avatar
    Badger 5 Edition

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    15,603
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason.s View Post
    On a possitive note i have a bulging sack of goodness for you :D
    So many jokes, so little time

    <tuffty/>
    Silver 2001 AMK S3. Silver alcantara interior... now with added powarrrrrrrr, torques. VAGCOM + KII-USB. >> My build thread...

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #1722
    ScottD3's Avatar
    I want your faulty electronics

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    15,021
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason.s View Post
    On a possitive note i have a bulging sack of goodness for you :D
    Quote Originally Posted by Westy View Post
    Wehey
    Westy does love a good messy reach around.

    New Car, New Thread: Scott's Akoya Silver A8
    Gone But Not Forgotten: Audrey's Build Thread

  4. #1723
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bedford
    Posts
    2,877
    Who doesnt to be fair lol

    Cactus green 8L S3 - B5 TIP + Jetex, Revised 007p, R32 rear ARB, AP Coilovers, Compbrake rear arms, Full Powerflexed dogbone.

  5. #1724
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Some pics of the S3 backbox I got last night:
















    Going to get some 3" pipe and an axle grinder and mock up the "Westek" version 1
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  6. #1725
    superkarl's Avatar
    MAN OF STEEL

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Liverpool/Southport. N west
    Posts
    7,533
    Westek VS Karltek


    coming to a show near you soon....

  7. #1726
    Sandra's Avatar
    MODERATOR

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    15,487
    Looking good Westy. Looks like you got a good buy.

  8. #1727
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    I tested my WMI on the way home today. I turned the full pump wheel to max (39psi I think) so it was out of the range of what my car can produce. Half pump was currently set at 10psi so I left it there. It was quite happy on half pump over and over again.

    I pulled over and adjusted full pump into my boost range, about 19psi and set off again. As soon as full pump kicks in the controller errors.

    I have a post up on AEMs site but no response yet.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  9. #1728
    superkarl's Avatar
    MAN OF STEEL

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Liverpool/Southport. N west
    Posts
    7,533
    thought we dont talk about wmi anymore??

  10. #1729
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by superkarl View Post
    thought we dont talk about wmi anymore??
    Seriously though mate I am getting close to listing this kit on eBay
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  11. #1730
    superkarl's Avatar
    MAN OF STEEL

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Liverpool/Southport. N west
    Posts
    7,533
    dont blame you.
    alot of ball ache for little gain?

    but then wellys, tufftys, danes were trouble free werent they.

    hang in there

  12. #1731
    Prawn's Avatar
    My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Posts
    9,377
    Don't think anyone has had a trouble free WMI install yet! Welly had issues with the pumP and its covered in glue, plus he's on his 3rd throttle body now isnt he? Don't think tufty has his working at the moment, and. It sure abouts Dane, perhaps his worked!

    Either way, I'm not bothering with it for now. Seems like just something else to complicate things
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Prawns TFSI Turbo'd 1.8T Track Car

    But I know nothing so ignore me.

  13. #1732
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    I need to do some logging and see if the WMI on half pump is actually good enough for the power I'm running. It might be fine just to leave it coming in at half at 12 psi? Id like it to run 100% properly but it may be adequate at half.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  14. #1733
    RIP S3dave

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    nr Glos
    Posts
    7,190
    Quote Originally Posted by Prawn View Post
    Don't think anyone has had a trouble free WMI install yet! Welly had issues with the pumP and its covered in glue, plus he's on his 3rd throttle body now isnt he? Don't think tufty has his working at the moment, and. It sure abouts Dane, perhaps his worked!

    Either way, I'm not bothering with it for now. Seems like just something else to complicate things

    I have run wmi for years.. no issues
    snow performance kit on badgerwagen currently which replaced the aquamist on there before

    wmi definately works
    on badgerwagen when first fitted i could add 12 degrees more advance and it remained cold intake after full race durations.


    i have run wmi for yeARS
    **http://www.facebook.com/Badger5Ltd**

    NEW NEW NEW eShop now LIVE>
    www.badger5.biz

    Badger 5 Ltd, Queen Annes Gate, Oldends Lane, Stonehouse, Glos, GL10 2DG


    http://www.badger5.co.uk, Tel:01453822880
    bill@badger5.co.uk
    **NEW** Badger5 Section CLICK here>> http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/213-badger-5/

  15. #1734
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    I'm sure it works an absolute dream when it's working. I need to go over all my wiring and double check everything.

    Once I've got this thing working it might be the final piece in the puzzle to achieving 300bhp.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  16. #1735
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Reply from the AEM forum. Quite interesting.

    Check the integrity of your ground and power connections to the pump. Doesn't really make sense that the controller would be detecting a short at higher duty cycles because the current draw actually decreases as duty increases. The current inrush is much higher when you run the pump at "partial throttle".
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  17. #1736
    Chugger

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    North Devon
    Posts
    2,716
    Ey? Are they saying that the pump uses more power when pumping at the lower speed/duty. That defys the laws of physics surely?

    I wouldn't ditch the wmi, it's having teething problems but will be great when it's sorted
    57 A3 2.0 TDI Sportback (140)

  18. #1737
    Chugger

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    North Devon
    Posts
    2,716
    Oh I think what they mean is that the surge is greater if on lower speed. Is there just one live going to the pump?
    57 A3 2.0 TDI Sportback (140)

  19. #1738
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    S.E. Melbourne/ Australia
    Posts
    146
    Could it be that you need bigger gauge wiring between controller and pump because they're so far apart and the controller senses the resistance in the wire as overload?
    2000 Brilliant Black TT Quattro.
    2010 Daytona Grey TTRS.

  20. #1739
    S3 Paul's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,764
    Quote Originally Posted by <tuffty/> View Post
    Obviously not an ASN member then else he would have been put straight

    27psi!!! jeez... might have got 280hp once on a dyno but on that setup I can't see it lasting long... 4bar FPR... brilliant!

    <tuffty/>
    What is the massive issue with a 4 Bar reg?
    Ive run one for a long time... injectors dont max out. Its an 11 year old car and is only on its second fuel pump.
    Yes there are more expensive ways around it... There is more than one way to skin a cat in the same way as there is more than one route to the 300 mark
    Noggy Blue 2001 S3

    I ask questions because i change my mind so much. If i ask questions you have already covered... just leave it be?

  21. #1740
    <tuffty/>'s Avatar
    Badger 5 Edition

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    15,603
    No real issue except there is no real need to use one... everyone seems to think there is but there isn't... its fine if the map has been scaled to take this into account but they do put strain on OEM fuel pumps when there is no need to fit them...

    If you have been running one for a while then fine but its really not necessary to fit one

    <tuffty/>
    Silver 2001 AMK S3. Silver alcantara interior... now with added powarrrrrrrr, torques. VAGCOM + KII-USB. >> My build thread...

  22. #1741
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Rosso TT View Post
    Could it be that you need bigger gauge wiring between controller and pump because they're so far apart and the controller senses the resistance in the wire as overload?
    That is one thing I'm thinking. I'm using 15amp wire as I was advised that 15 or 20amp should do the trick. I may get a few metres of 20 and see if that's any better.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  23. #1742
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Been posting up on the AEM forum and it looks like 15amp wire is fine:

    Does anyone know what the recommended gauge/ampage wire should be used for the pump live feed?

    I'm using 15amp cable as I was advised that 15 or 20 amp should be fine. I might try some 20amp cable instead.

    Reply:

    Not sure what gauge "20 amp" wire would be but 14 awg wire is generally recommended.

    14 gauge pure copper wire. Rated at 15 Amps, 125v, 60hz.

    So wire should be fine but I'm going to go over all my wiring next week and double check my earth and live feeds.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  24. #1743
    StaceyS3's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maldon, Essex
    Posts
    2,099
    You could run a temporary live feed from the battery through passenger window to the pump just to try it out shouldn't take long to knock up that way
    Power & Torque 335bhp 285ftlb
    0-60 4.64 1/4 mile 13.02
    My GTX3071r Build Thread
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-f...ld-thread.html

  25. #1744
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyS3 View Post
    You could run a temporary live feed from the battery through passenger window to the pump just to try it out shouldn't take long to knock up that way
    Very good idea that mate. If the pump works then I know it's the live feed and I can leave the earth well alone
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  26. #1745
    s3dave's Avatar
    TFSI Hybrid

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    west yorks
    Posts
    10,121
    You have not pulled a few of the copper strands out of the wire for your stash westy?...

  27. #1746
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by s3dave View Post
    You have not pulled a few of the copper strands out of the wire for your stash westy?...
    There's definitely money in nicking cable Dave! 10 metres of this stuff was over £20
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  28. #1747
    StaceyS3's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maldon, Essex
    Posts
    2,099
    Me and a friend tidied up some scrap cable and got just over £300 for 40m
    Power & Torque 335bhp 285ftlb
    0-60 4.64 1/4 mile 13.02
    My GTX3071r Build Thread
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-f...ld-thread.html

  29. #1748
    StaceyS3's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maldon, Essex
    Posts
    2,099
    If you used some cable of that size definately doubt you'll see any volt drop but might weigh you down a bit
    Power & Torque 335bhp 285ftlb
    0-60 4.64 1/4 mile 13.02
    My GTX3071r Build Thread
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-f...ld-thread.html

  30. #1749
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyS3 View Post
    If you used some cable of that size definately doubt you'll see any volt drop but might weigh you down a bit
    My old man's a sparky so he's got some heavy duty stuff in the garage but not sure I have any crimps big enough for it.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  31. #1750
    StaceyS3's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maldon, Essex
    Posts
    2,099
    Was only joking about that size mate
    The stuff I stripped out and scrapped was about 20mm diameter
    Power & Torque 335bhp 285ftlb
    0-60 4.64 1/4 mile 13.02
    My GTX3071r Build Thread
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-f...ld-thread.html

  32. #1751
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyS3 View Post
    You could run a temporary live feed from the battery through passenger window to the pump just to try it out shouldn't take long to knock up that way
    Ok I tried this tonight. At first it looked like it worked but after a few more runs and a fanny about with the live under the dash I realised i didn't have the full pump setting low enough that it was in my boost range

    I did some logging and saw lows of 9 degrees AITs with ambient being 4 degrees so I can see the effect that just using water is having! I am however noticing a fair bit of water in the boost hoses:



    So, the live feed doesn't seem to be the problem unless the wire i'm using isn't up to the job. It's rated at 15amps so I doubt that.

    Next port of call is the earth.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  33. #1752
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Can anyone think of a way I could get at least 10PSI into the AEM controller boost line without a compressor? I was thinking that using something onto my spare tyre would work but not sure where to get the parts to make one. I also thought about one of those garden sprayers where you can pump it up to the required pressure then fire the air into the boost line.

    Any ideas?
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  34. #1753
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bedford
    Posts
    2,877
    Could probably do it at work with the little airgun thing they put on the airlines on saturday morning and you could collect the parts and hopefully bring the seat too lol. But depends if you wanted to come into bedford and also wait that long to test it.

    How big is the diameter of the line?

    Cactus green 8L S3 - B5 TIP + Jetex, Revised 007p, R32 rear ARB, AP Coilovers, Compbrake rear arms, Full Powerflexed dogbone.

  35. #1754
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason.s View Post
    Could probably do it at work with the little airgun thing they put on the airlines on saturday morning and you could collect the parts and hopefully bring the seat too lol. But depends if you wanted to come into bedford and also wait that long to test it.

    How big is the diameter of the line?
    Thanks for the offer mate but ideally I need to be able to do this in my garage with the lower dash removed so I can mess about withthe wiring.
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  36. #1755
    Reesy's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    3,604
    Hope you can get this sorted mate, any more news from AEM via the forum?

    Also, ompressor and air line finally needed?


  37. #1756
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Reesy View Post
    Hope you can get this sorted mate, any more news from AEM via the forum?

    Also, ompressor and air line finally needed?
    AEM's website appears to be useless unless you have a faulty check valve!

    I will invest in a compressor at some point but at the moment I've got bigger fish to fry
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  38. #1757
    <tuffty/>'s Avatar
    Badger 5 Edition

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    15,603
    Bill uses a bit of kit similar to this...
    Amazon.com: Hand Vacuum Pump w/Gauge: Industrial & Scientific

    <tuffty/>
    Silver 2001 AMK S3. Silver alcantara interior... now with added powarrrrrrrr, torques. VAGCOM + KII-USB. >> My build thread...

  39. #1758
    Lewis583's Avatar
    4th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    872
    Something like this would be ideal
    http://www.shacktools.com/sykespicka...acturers_id=14

    Though the above is expensive if you only want to use it once.

    Edit: too slow and the one tuffty linked to looks good.
    Last edited by Lewis583; 24th January 2012 at 13:37.
    2008 E92 BMW 335i M-sport
    1990 Golf GTi w/ a 20v heart BUILD THREAD
    Full VCDS

    2006 A3 2.0T quattro S-line R.I.P. You will be missed.

    ** Breaking - 8L 1997 Audi A3 1.8T. **

  40. #1759
    Welly's Avatar
    VX220 SC Driver :)

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    10,695
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Marriage is like a coffin and each kid is another nail."
    Homer Simpson





  41. #1760
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,283
    I'm going to look at the earthing wiring tonight on my AEM kit. At the moment its attached to the main in car earth under the dash by the steering column. Is there any alternative earthing point I can use for testing?
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO