Does it have to be a 225bhp S3?

gwilo

Reaction score
Well, I was going to wait but I've started looking now for a decent S3 (I'll trading in my A3 1.8t S) that I can afford. The ones that are listed as 225bhp stand out most, but what about the normal S3's? What's the main benefit of searching for a 225bhp model? Is it just 15bhp? And what does it matter if I intend to map it etc anyway? Any other major differences I should know about? As you can tell, I'm still learning as I'm coming from a VW back ground (my last car being a Euro look VR6) but I've always loved the pre-face lift A3/S3 and have been very impressed with my 1.8t A3 and now want a bit of a project for over the next few years again - and a quick one at that lol.

There is no difference the 210,s were limited a little bit, so they were not the same bhp as the tt when it came out... The 225 later models are easier to get silicone hose kits for ie the BAM and AMK.. I have a 99 APY model

Pre March 2001 : APY (210bhp)
March 2001 - Aug 2001: AMK (210 bhp)
Aug 2001 onwards: BAM (225 PS)

The AMK is as near as makes no difference a BAM with a different mapping on it.

Also note that the 210s are bhp and the 225 are PS (so make it 221bhp)

Basically it's effectively age related as to what engine you end up with.

The facelift was in March 2001.

Hope this helps!

Also worth noting the 210bhp is a little cheaper on insurance for younger drivers made quite a difference for me :)

and also tax is cheaper on the earlier ones too I think anyway

Pre March 2001 : APY (210bhp)
March 2001 - Aug 2001: AMK (210 bhp)
Aug 2001 onwards: BAM (225 PS)

The AMK is as near as makes no difference a BAM with a different mapping on it.

Also note that the 210s are bhp and the 225 are PS (so make it 221bhp)

Basically it's effectively age related as to what engine you end up with.

The facelift was in March 2001.

Hope this helps!