S3 Battery going flat

ant schof

Reaction score
Hi i'm a newbie here , recently bought myself an 02 plate S3 . Loving ther car although i've already had to replace a broken nsr spring and and a set of front cv boots ! Anyway mechanicals i can deal with but having a problem with battery going flat after a week . I'm using car daily , i've noticed theres an electrical buzzing (motor sound ) from under the inlet manifold after unlocking and before i've even started the car ! Is this normal ? not sure whats causing the battery to drain ! Any help would be appreciated :yum:

Ant

The buzzing noise is normal when the ignition is on. Can be a couple of different things. Usually coming from the throttle body but unless its a very loud noise you have nothing to worry about.

As for your flat battery. Firstly id have the battery tested. If thats ok id have a drain test carried out. Ie. Car in locked status with bonnet open, manually close the bonnet catch with a screwdriver to trick the car into thinking the bonnet is closed. Then go to the battery and use an amp clamp round the main earth lead to see what sort of current is being drained. The chances are you wont have an amp clamp. Most people dont even know what it is. Basically for those that dont know, you put it around any electrical wire and it tells you what current is passing through that circuit.

Do you have RAC/AA cover?? If so call them out when the battery is flat. They should carry out a drain test for you no prob.

Most Audis arent common for drain faults in my experience. My money is on the battery but id have it tested. And even if its new, dont take it for granted. A part new to you may not be new. It may have sat on a shelf for some time. Hope this helps a bit.

ps if you dont have breakdown cover, get it. Its handier for more than just breaking down. 5 call outs a year for not a lot of cash. Im biast as im sure you can figure out when it comes to the Orange/yellow brand breakdown.

HI Dave ,