Standard turbo replacement or upgrade?

BAM_S3

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie so please go easy. I have a 2002 S3 225 which may need a new turbo - I have it booked in at the weekend for this to be confirmed. I was told a new replacement turbo would be £1400 fitted inc vat. I though this may be a good time to upgrade to a hybrid but I was told by this well known independent garage that it was not worth it as the power increase was minimal.

At present I have a stage 2 remap by vagcheck and I do not want to upgrade internals at this stage. The new turbo the garage quoted me for is £1000 alone - I wonder whether I can get a better alternative for this price ? It seems hybrids can be had for this sort of money but will I need to do other mods to run a hybrid?

In short I want the best turbo I can get for £1000 without having to do any other mods to run it, if possible.

Would really appreciate a steer in the right direction. Thanks in advance.

Dont quote me but I think you can recondition or hybrid your turbo + rods for £1000 ish minus labour costs.....

Thanks for the reply - I will enquire but is t just the rods I would need to do to run a hybrid? I am aware these are the weak spot on the 1.8 t.

i swear to get the turbo you have hybridised is around 500, rods about 350. theres all sorts of other little bits of hardware though like bolts, bearings etc, then injectors, 3 in downpipe. if you havn't already got these its going to easily top 1000 quid.
im not sure if you can have the hybrid built and run it with your current setup and map and it be ok until you get round to do the rest, that would be ideal, if you wer able to bolt the hybrid turbo, and it run ok until funds allow for the other necessary items. a question i've been meaning to ask