Volks AutosChris Nott
    Reverse Gear

Status

Oil light on a3 1.8t 2002, pump strainer blockage?

Hi im new to audi's just made a change from vauxhalls

I always buy broken cars and repair them i love a project,

any advice from you guys would be well appreciated as i've never woked on an audi or vw before

Audi A3 1.8T 2002 bought cheap from a friend

Oil light flashing and the head is rattling, still starts and drives but hasnt been since the oil light has come on.

there are no leaks plenty of oil in the engine

im thinking this is either due to pump failure, or i have hear about the strainer getting blocked?

as for the head. will fixing the oil pressure problem stop this or has the damage been done and what are the heads like to rebuild?

im a total newbie to this engine so please dont slate me im just trying to gauge how much work i am going to need to do to her.

Thanks. Regards Aaron

2. # ADS
    ADS

TFSI Hybrid

Status
    Hi Aaron yes it sounds like the pickup is blocked dont attempt to drive or start the car, sump off and clean or replace you may be lucky ??

1st Gear

Status
    yep your along the right line, also cam chain tensioner is oil driven and often rattles when the pump get blocked. It's often refered to as 1.8t 'sludge' so have a search for that, the oil pick up is cheap, maybe 16, about 3 hours to remove and clean sump, but if it's noisy, looks like you might be into more work than that. Basically the sludge will need cleaning out of engine, breather pipes etc....
    Have a look at this http://www.audi-forums.com/b6-forum/...ure-light.html
    Last edited by s3tle; 13th August 2010 at 00:20.

Reverse Gear

Status
    cheers guys quick reply will be getting my hands dirty mid next week so will update this thread and post pics etc

Reverse Gear

Status
    Right... success with the oil pressure, just had to clean/burn all the nasty deposits out of the strainer, and clean out sump hydraulic lifters now silent. all is ok BUT.